Top Ten + Review + Giveaway: Blood Entwines

bloodentwines

Blood Entwines by Caroline Healy is a YA Urban Fantasy published by Bloomsbury Publishing (Sparks). The tour runs October 20th- November 16th with reviews, interviews & guest posts. Check out the tour page and schedule.

Title: Blood Entwines
Author: Caroline Healy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing (Sparks)
Release Date: August 2014
Length: 250 pages
Series?: no
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Find the book: Goodreads | Amazon | Bloomsbury

Blood-Entwines-cover-july-2014-668x1024

A dark compelling story of love and its more sinister elements…possession.

In the aftermath of a blood transfusion that saved her life, Kara feels different. Her senses are stronger … she can hear whispered comments not meant for her ears … she can hear the person following her.

When Jack, her stalker, reveals himself and insists that Kara has something that belongs to him, she does her best to avoid him. But he’s determined to talk to her, convinced that they’re linked through the blood she received during her transfusion.

Jack is struggling against a dark and dangerous demon. His body is host to the evil power that wants Kara’s blood and will stop at nothing to get it. If Jack is able to gain control he can warn Kara. But which is stronger, the power of the blood they share or the force for evil? How can Kara help save Jack without risking her own life?

***** TOP TEN *****

Top Ten Rituals I Do While Writing ~ Caroline Healy

I like to write first thing in the morning, like with the sunrise. In Wintertime I practice some yoga as it is really dark first thing in the morning, then sit at my computer for 7.30. In the summertime if I am in first draft mode I could start work at 6 or 6.30, writing till around midday.

I have a notebook for every project. I jot down ideas and plans into these notebooks. I can’t put more than one project in each notebook because in my mind it’s like contaminating the story. Needless to say I have notebooks all over my house. Some of the projects will never see the light of day but you never know what you might come back to.

I have tea break around 10.30 a.m. every day, usually black tea and some dark chocolate. When I am on my tea break I check the gossip columns for all the latest star scandal!

Once I start a project I will write every day until the project is complete, until the first draft is down on paper. That might mean that I write six weeks straight, every day, till I reach my daily word count and the finished draft.

I post-it my story on the wall next to my desk, moving scenes around till I get the right fit.

I don’t like reading similar books to the project I am working on until I have first draft written. So if I’m writing a Y.A. novel I will only read literary fiction or crime thrillers so as not to influence my writing voice during the project.

I have days when I don’t get out of my pyjamas if I’m writing a particular tough section of the book.

When I finish the first draft I have to leave the writing for about a month before I can begin on the edits.

I plan in paper, in coffee shops and I first draft on the computer in my office.

I have to have a clear desk, so I am not distracted by all the stacks of papers…so I usually push everything to behind my computer so it doesn’t catch my line of site. I know it’s there but at least I can’t see it…so I trick myself into thinking everything is tidy…the perfect writing space. 🙂

 

***** REVIEW *****

At first it was difficult for me to get into this book, but then I got sucked into the drama that is high school.

Kara’s storyline is paralleled with Jack’s inner thoughts, leaving just a hint of what is to come each time. I thought that was a brilliant technique to use and it worked very well.

After her accident and return to school, Kara’s character changes quite a bit. She goes through an immediate stage of personal growth and finds something in common with a most unlikely friend, Hannah, and stands up to others.

As the story continued to unravel, I discovered that each character had something to hide.

Hannah is a strange one, or so Kara and her group of friends thought. Sure, she has her own oddities, but she comes to Kara’s aid on more than one occasion. She wants to fly under the radar with her super religious parents and her doctor.

Ben, Kara’s crush, is between a rock and a hard spot in more than one way. He needs to maintain some semblance of a friendship with Ashleigh Jameson and try to fly under the radar in his friendship with Kara. Ashleigh has the power to rip the scholarship he so desperately needs right out from under him. He also has a situation at home very similar to Travis in Girls Love Travis Walker...except he also has two younger siblings to take care of on top of mom.

Worse than making an enemy and shunning the most powerful girl in school and dealing with the strangeness of returning to school after the accident, Kara has a stalker. A weirdo stalker who insists she’s stolen something from him.

Jack’s character puzzled me. Besides stalking Kara, he also has something important to share with her and it becomes very complex. There are things beyond his control and he tries to warn Kara before it’s too late.

***** About the Author *****

unnamedCaroline Healy is a writer and community arts facilitator. She recently completed her M.A. in Creative Writing at the Seamus Heaney Centre, Queen’s University,Belfast.

She published her first, award winning collection of short stories, entitled A Stitch in Time in August 2012. Her work has been featured in publications s

She writes literary fiction and young adult fiction, with her Y.A. book Blood Entwines released with Bloomsbury Publishing in August 2014.uch as Wordlegs, The Bohemyth, Prole and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice.

Caroline loves drinking tea from mis-matched china, doing yoga, as well as reading, writing, talking and thinking about all things bookish. She also has a penchant for cake and dark chocolate.

Find the author: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

*****Giveaway*****

There is a $20 Amazon gift card giveaway! Ends 11/26/14.

Click here to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway!

One thought on “Top Ten + Review + Giveaway: Blood Entwines

Leave a Reply

